Dom Pérignon hits the jackpot at the 2017 Champagne & Sparkling Wine Championships

Dom Pérignon Chef de Caves Richard Geoffroy pictured with Essi Avellan MW receiving the coveted trophy

Dom Pérignon 1998 P2 in Magnum has been named Supreme World Champion and Best French Sparkling Wine in the 2017 Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships (CSWWC). Trentodoc producer Ferrari Lunelli was crowned as Sparkling Wine Producer of the Year 2017 at the annual Awards Dinner in Vintner’s Hall, London. Founder and head judge Tom Stevenson said: “After a hard fought contest, uncovering some exceptional sparkling wines from 29 different countries, we were delighted to see Dom Pérignon Chef de Caves Richard Geoffroy collect the ultimate crown for the very first time.”

This year the Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships saw entries from more countries than ever before. Stevenson said, “It’s our mission not just to promote world-class wines, but also to discover and reward new and exciting wines from established and emerging regions across the world. I was particularly pleased to see Chandon Argentina scoop two trophies this year – National Champion and World Champion Rosé for the Chandon Rosé NV.

The CSWWC is very clear about recognizing and publishing only Gold and Silver medals, to highlight every winning wine as being very special. However, the Championship also wants to encourage emerging regions or established regions with very little history of sparkling wine production who win bronze medals.

“It’s very hard for them to gauge how they are progressing when they have no local competition of world-class quality. This is where the CSWWC brings added value,” said Stevenson, “providing them with feedback and consistent, objective and authoritative assessment from the same three sparkling wine specialists each year.”

The full World Champions by Style and National Champions for 2017 are:

  • World Champion Blanc de Blancs – Hattingley 2011 Blancs de Blancs (Magnum) from England
  • World Champion NV Brut Blend – Louis Roederer NV Brut Premier (Magnum) from Champagne
  • World Champion Rosé – Chandon NV Rosé from Argentina
  • World Champion Vintaged Brut Blend – Piper-Heidsieck 2008 Vintage
  • Country-wise Winners
  • Best Argentine Sparkling Wine – Chandon NV Rosé
  • Best Australian Sparkling Wine – Howard Park Wines NV Jeté Brut Blanc
  • Best Chinese Sparkling Wine – Chandon NV Brut
  • Best English Sparkling Wine – Nyetimber 2009 Classic Cuvée (Jeroboam)
  • Best French Sparkling Wine – Dom Pérignon 1998 P2 (Magnum)
  • Best Italian Sparkling Wine – Maso Martis 2011 Brut Riserva (Magnum)
  • Best New Zealand Sparkling Wine – Hunter’s 2013 Mirumiru Reserve
  • Best South African Sparkling Wine – Klein Constantia 2013 Brut
  • Best Spanish Sparkling Wine – Vilarnau NV Vilarnau Brut Reserva
  • Best US Sparkling Wine – Roederer Estate NV Rosé
  • Regional Champions 2017
  • Best Cava – Vilarnau NV Vilarnau Brut Reserva
  • Best Champagne – Dom Pérignon 1998 P2 in Magnum
  • Best Franciacorta – Berlucchi ’61 Saten in Magnum
  • Best Loire Sparkling Wine – Bouvet NV Saumur Brut
  • Best Prosecco – Astoria NV Arzana Cartizze Dry
  • Best Trentodoc – Maso Martis 2011 Brut Riserva in Magnum

The CSWWC is the most respected, comprehensive and rigorous international sparkling wine competition in the world, judged exclusively by renowned fizz experts Tom Stevenson, Essi Avellan MW and Dr Tony Jordan.

For more details, visit Tasting notes and pricing will be published in Tom Stevenson’s Champagne & Sparkling Wine Guide 2018 (available next month via Amazon).

Photos: Charmaine Grieger